Another excerpt from “Ready for Revolution”

From a chapter detailing his (Stokely Carmichael/Kwame Toure) experience walking with Dr. Martin Luther King in the March Against Fear in Mississippi, 1966:

Dr. Martin Luther King and Stokely Carmichael (Kwame Toure)

One time I was really moved too. I mean literally moved. I was walking next to him and a small group was waiting, some old ladies. These old women, about six or seven, were under a tree lining a spot just to see Dr. King. They were looking, looking, shading their eyes as we came up. All I heard was “I see him, I see him,” and boom, I’m flat on my back. I mean those old women ran up, knocked me down, and stepped on over me, just to get next to Dr. King. I don’t think they even saw me, until the last one running by. 

As she stepped on over, she looked down, surprised. “Oh, my! Son you all right? You ain’t hurt, is you?”

“No’m. I ain’ hurt. Entirely my fault. I should know better than standing between Dr. King and his people.”

“You sure go that right, son, ” she said, and kept on moving. 



Leave a Reply

